top of page

WELCOME TO THE SALITA! BLOG

Mabuhay!

Hello friends and welcome to the newest part of our website, our blog!

This section will feature our latest lessons and activities that we'll be offering in class and any supplemental information that will help you through your assignments.

After 3+ years of teaching Filipino at Salita and witnessing the success of our small group of students, it was brought to my attention that I ought to include the parents through emails or to provide them with some information to help cultivate the culture at home. I realized I had been so focused on getting our students to learn the language that I overlooked the opportunity to make sure that parents could be involved in their learning as well!

So here's my attempt at making this even better by sharing what we do with anyone who might feel inclined in participating or learning about what we do by providing SOME of the information online.

I will be forward in saying that what is posted is meant to help the students we have currently enrolled, so don't be discouraged to find partial worksheets or short explanations. Coming to class and speaking with others is the best way to learn!

DISCLAIMER: I know that opening our lesson plans leaves me vulnerable to critics and experts, and many readers will be forthright in saying that there are other means of using certain words in the language. I am by no means an expert in the language, but I am a fluent speaker and an experienced teacher. I have created this material as a resource for Filipino-Americans to learn about their culture and their language as Filipino-Americans. The information is meant to incorporate familiar topics and identifiable points of Filipino American culture. Students who are already familiar with these ideas may apply such knowledge to further their understanding of being Filipino. While there may be many resources available as textbooks, I have found few resources that help teach the Filipino language to young, English speakers and readers that supports both the Filipino and American culture. The lessons provided are my interpretation, a comipilation of ideas from Filipino (Tagalog) workbooks for young children translated for the use of our class. This is available as supplement to what is learned in class and may not include all the information in the unit. As a final note, I would like to keep this blog a positive place of learning for the students, and while certain topics and sometimes, interpretations can be debatable, comments that will interfere with their learning will be subject to approval.


Search
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram Reflection
  • YouTube Classic
bottom of page